Image

Hello Everyone:  Many of you have asked about why I haven’t blogged lately.  The answer is really simple.  I have made positive changes in my life to make room for the creative juices to flow.  I feel inspired again and ready to share good restaurant experiences, recipes, techniques, and let’s not forget cool spaces.

The thing I am most excited about is blogging about great restaurants and how the interiors affect the experience of the diner, bringing food and design together.

So, today, I was hungry for soup with salad, so I made the following recipe.  I took my inspiration from the Smitten Kitten, which you can see HERE. I am pairing this with a kale salad with ginger lemon vinaigrette, so I kept the soup pretty pure and simple.  Feel free to add lemon, curry powder, chili powder, tahini, or whatever else you think would compliment it.  Heck, keep it thick and call it Carrot Hummus, serving with pita.

DecoFoodie Carrot Soup

Small bag carrots, cut into big hunks (about 10-12 big carrots)

1/2 large onion, peeled and chopped into hunks

1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

4 whole garlic cloves, skinned, but left whole

Olive oil

Salt & Pepper to taste

Chicken stock (at least 3 cups, but you might need more)

Chopped parsley for garnish.

Preheat oven to 350F.  In a large bowl, add all the vegetables.  Drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Toss well with fingers.  Roast on a sheet pan with parchment paper (for easy clean up) for an hour, at least.  Check the carrots and remove when fork tender (you may need longer to cook, depending on the size of your carrots).

Remove from the oven and allow to cool.  Put some roasted garbanzo beans aside for garnish.  Add to blender.  I have a VitaMix, which will puree anything (even relatives you don’t like).  If you have a standard blender, you may have to do this in batches.  Add chicken stock until you have arrived at a FINE puree.  If you like it coarse, that’s fine.  Serve with garnish of roasted garboazo beans and parsley.  Drizzle with sour cream or Greek yogurt (if you like).  It’s a great canvas for so many things.

See ya soon, PROMISE!

